

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE September 19, 2024 Media Contact: Laura Sauser Executive Director Phone: 608-245-3640 Email: sauser@wisconsinlibraries.org

# Wisconsin Library Association Announces 2024 Literary Award Recipients

(Madison, Wisconsin) The Wisconsin Library Association (WLA) has announced its literary, notable authors, and outstanding achievement awards for 2024.

# **Literary Awards**

The WLA Literary Awards are for the highest literary achievements in fiction, nonfiction, and poetry by an author with a Wisconsin connection, for a work written in the previous year. This year's recipients are:

- Fiction: Hanna Halperin for I Could Live Here Forever.
- Nonfiction: Paige Towers for The Sound of Undoing: A Memoir in Essays.
- Poetry: K. Iver for Short Film Starring My Beloved's Red Bronco

# **Notable Wisconsin Authors**

The Notable Wisconsin Authors Award honors Wisconsin authors, past and present, for their literary contributions. WLA hopes to promote a greater awareness of the state's literary heritage through this recognition. This year's recipients are authors Sandra Balzo and Patricia Skalka.

Balzo is the author of the *Maggy Thorsen Mystery Series* and other titles. Nominated for both Anthony and Macavity awards, Balzo's novels have received starred reviews from Kirkus and Booklist. In addition to her books, Balzo writes short stories, two of which have been published in *Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine*, winning the Macavity, Derringer and Robert L. Fish awards. A native of southeastern Wisconsin, Sandy now lives on the Central Coast of California. Learn more about her at <u>sandrabalzo.com</u>.

Skalka is the author of the popular *Dave Cubiak Door County Mystery Series*. She's won both the Midwest Book Award for Best Thriller/Mystery and the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award. During the pandemic, USA Today named *Death Stalks Door County*, the first Cubiak mystery, as the book to represent Wisconsin in its special feature: "50 States/50 Books to Read." Skalka divides her time between Milwaukee and Door County, Wisconsin. Learn more about her at <u>patriciaskala.com</u>.

These annual awards will be presented on Thursday, November 7,2024 at the WLA Annual Conference at the KI Convention Center in Green Bay, Wisconsin.

# **Outstanding Achievement**

In addition, the following Wisconsin authors were recognized for outstanding achievement for books published in the previous year.

2024 Honored Fiction Authors

- A Winter's Rime by Carol Dunbar
- The Effects of Urban Renewal on Mid-Century America and Other Crime Stories by Jeff Esterholm
- The Vaster Wilds by Lauren Groff
- Imagine Your Life Like This by Sarah Layden
- Dry Land by B. Pladek

2024 Honored Nonfiction Titles

- The Devil's Element by Dan Egan
- Survival Food: North Woods Stories by a Menominee Cook by Thomas Pecore Weso
- Chinese Prodigal: A Memoir in Eight Arguments by David Shih
- Owner of a Lonely Heart by Beth Nguyen

2024 Honored Poetry Titles

- Auction by Quan Barry
- Into the Good World Again by Max Garland
- Losing Purchase by Bruce Dethlefsen

For more information about the WLA Literary Awards and a list of past recipients, please visit <u>www.wisconsinlibraries.org/wla-literary-awards</u>.

#####

# About the Wisconsin Library Association

The Wisconsin Library Association is a professional organization representing all types of libraries – school, public, academic, and special. Its membership is comprised of librarians and support staff, library trustees, friends of libraries, and business vendors who advocate and work for the improvement of library services for all Wisconsin citizens.