Notable Wisconsin Authors is an annual project funded through the WLA Foundation which honors Wisconsin authors, past and present, for their literary contributions. The Wisconsin Library Association hopes to promote a greater awareness of the state's literary heritage through this recognition.


The choice of authors for the honor is a responsibility of the Literary Awards Committee and the Children's Book Awards Committee of the WLA. The Committees welcome nominations from anyone; the nominations may be mailed at any time to:

Children's Book Award Committee
Manitowoc Public Library
c/o Julia Lee
707 Quay St
Manitowoc, WI 54220

Nominations may also be sent electronically to the WLA Office at [email protected]. Names are added to the working list of authors under consideration each year using the following guidelines:

  1. A Wisconsin author is considered as one who was born in Wisconsin, or is currently living in Wisconsin or lived in Wisconsin for a significant length of time.
  2. To be eligible, an author must have written a work or works which are a contribution to the world of literature and ideas.
  3. No set number of authors need to be honored in any given year; however, no more than three living authors will be recognized each year.

Bio-bibliographies of the authors are prepared by members of the WLA Literary Awards Committee and Children's Book Award Committee.


2020 Kashmira Sheth 2019  
2018 Laurence Yep 2017 Neil Gaiman

Dori Chaconas

2015 Ann Bausum
2014 Avi 2013 Connie and Peter Roop
2012 Tom Lichtenheld 2011 Barbara Joosse
2010 Gerald Morris 2009 Pete Hautman
2008 Marybeth Lorbiecki 2007 Jim LaMarche
2006 Betty Ren Wright 2005 S.D. Schindler
2004 Marion Dane Bauer 2003 Ann Cameron
2002 Alden R. Carter 2001 Kevin Henkes
2000 Kathleen Krull 1999 Nathan Aaseng
1998 Lois Ehlert 1997 Lorna Balian
1996 George Shannon 1995 Nancy Ekholm Burkert
1994 David Kherdian 1993 Virginia Kahl 
1992 Anne Pellowski 1991 Florence Parry Heide
1989 Elizabeth Enright  1984 Beverly Butler
1981 Ellen Raskin 1979 Marie Hall Ets
1975 Sterling North 1973 Laura Ingalls Wilder