The Wisconsin Library Association (WLA) Paralibrarian of the Year Award recognizes the essential role of paralibrarians, including all library support staff who do not currently have an MLIS, in providing excellent library service in Wisconsin. This award places special emphasis on efforts to further the role of paralibrarians and library support staff in the library profession.  Application Available: July 1, 2024 | Application Deadline: September 6, 2024. 



The WLA Paralibrarian of the Year award winner will be selected by the WLA Awards & Honors Commitee.  The criteria are as follows:

  • Excellence in job performance, including contribution(s) enabling their library to best serve its patrons and/or its community (whether public, college/university, school, corporation, etc.)
  • The encouragement of literacy and the use of the library's resources
  • A commitment to free access to information for all
  • The candidate's work to build networks, organizations, and/or groups to support excellence in library work and new career paths for library support staff
  • The candidate's efforts to improve communication and the breaking down of barriers between support staff and the MLIS librarians with whom they work.


Nominations must be received by September 6, 2024. 

Prepare Your Nomination

Download the nomination form questions below. This document lists the questions found on the online nomination form.  It is intended to help nominators organize their information before submitting the online form. Nominations must be submitted using the Awards & Honors online form above. 

Download the Nomination Form Questions

View Past Awards

For general information, questions about the nomination form, procedures or award category criteria, please contact the WLA Office at 608.245.3640 or [email protected].